Maybe today…I’ll figure out how my brain works

I’ve never considered myself an artist, maybe art savvy, but as I recently confessed, my need for control turns every piece of art I try to create into a project.  However it’s not the creation itself that I enjoy, it’s the thinking about something and then watching it become a reality. And here is where I am always surprised, because no matter how much I plan or visualize the piece of  art in my head always turns into another project that I had no clue was even in my brain. So with that in mind I give you today’s topic:

Maybe today…I’ll figure out how my brain works.

I’m not talking about the actual biological functions but the basic perceptions that I seem to  completely misinterpret. So in a previous blog I stated that my next project was to involve candy foil wrappers, toothpicks and small mirrors. Well it seems that only one of those items are actually in my next project which ended up being miniature wooden rafts with artistic flair. Why?  I don’t know.  When I meditated on it yesterday I came up with this: Last year I visited the ocean for the first time.  It was amazing!  I had never felt so serene, so at peace.  It was the first time in my life that I realized that there is no way for me to control everything and that that was a great thing.  So maybe the miniature wells, (which I haven’t told you about) and the miniature rafts are representations of my mind trying to reconnect with that feeling of complete awesomeness.  And maybe not. Until next time…

Leave a comment